Match Data 2010/2011

Dartford 2
Havant & Waterlooville 2

Football Conference South - Sat Aug 14, 2010

Richard Martin
Jake Newton
Jon McDonald
Ian Selley
Sam Pearce (Ruby, 85)
Ian Simpemba
Sammy Igoe
Bobby Hopkinson (Whyte, 87)
Steven Ramsey (Fogden, 70)
Mustafa Tiryaki
Paul Hinshelwood

Liam Sewell
Wes Fogden
Harvey Whyte
Craig Robson
Matt Ruby


Hopkinson (pen, 45)
Fogden (88)

Harris (26)
Hayes (pen, 90)

Att: 1302
Andrew Young
Billy Burgess
Tom Bonner (Burchell, 90)
Joe Bruce
Paul Goodacre
Michael Shinn
Ryan Hayes
James White (Noble, 46)
Oliver Berquez (Rook, 71)
Lee Burns
Danny Harris

Adam Gross
Carl Rook
Lee Noble
Adam Burchell
Deren Ibrahim

Click thumbnails for larger images.
All photos by Dave Haines. For more of Dave’s work click here

Havant and Waterlooville’s season opened with a 2-2 draw against Dartford this afternoon after Wes Fogden’s 88th minute strike was cancelled out by a dramatic equaliser from the penalty spot six minutes into injury time.

The highly fancied Kent side struck first in the 26th minute when Danny Harris diverted a corner past stand-in Hawks keeper Richard Martin, but the visitors drew level through a Bobby Hopkinson penalty in first half injury time.

It then took until the 88th minute for the Hawks to score a second goal; a wonder strike worth waiting for by Fogden that curled 25 yards past keeper Andrew Young to go in at the far post. The Hawks then conceded the draw six minutes into injury time when Harris was pulled back in the box and Ryan Hayes put his spot kick past Martin.

Shaun Gale added pre-season trialist Matt Ruby to his slender squad for their first outing this season, and Martin replaced injured Nathan Ashmore in the only change from last week’s starting eleven.

Ryman League Champions Dartford continued where they left off with a confident start that saw the Hawks pinned back in the opening minutes. Hayes sent a corner across the face of goal that drew sighs from the large home attendance as it went out untouched, and further forward surges tested the Hawks’ back four as the game unfolded.

Darford remained strong in defence throughout, claiming every aerial attack with clearing headers from Joe Bruce and Paul Goodacre. Jon McDonald’s long throws were trapped every time, and despite some nimble footwork from Hopkinson, the Hawks struggled to get a shot off to begin with.

Sam Pearce blocked an attempt from Oli Berquez as he got onto the end of a free kick sent in by Goodacre, and Martin then pulled off the first of several critical point blank saves before Goodacre sent a further corner wide with a header.

Michael Shinn’s shot straight at the near post was put round the upright by Martin at full stretch, and the busy keeper then punched the corner that followed clear of his area.

Having weathered the early attack, the Hawks finally found space for a shot 23 minutes in when Mustafa Tiryaki’s effort went across and wide, and Hopkinson was denied a minute later when his run across the edge of the box ended in a shot blocked by Bruce.

Dartford took a justified lead 26 minutes in when Hayes’s corner arced across the goal and HARRIS twisted it into the bottom corner with an unstoppable header.

Tiryaki fired a free kick into Bruce that deflected to the back of the box for Sammy Igoe to collect. The summer signing then sent it looping back to Tiryaki at the post for a header that dropped wide. Paul Hinshelwood then went through on the end of a good pass, but his touch took the ball away from keeper Young, and the goal.

Continuing to build pressure, the Hawks should have drawn level in the 41st minute when Igoe worked his way to the line on the right and flicked the ball across the box for Ian Simpemba to connect with a free header that grazed the bar as it went out.

Steven Ramsey then brought the ball through the middle and left it for Tiryaki to hammer a shot into Goodacre that deflected out for a corner. Selley sent the ball into a packed box, and Hayes nudged it with the top of his arm as he tried to guide it out of the box.

The referee awarded a penalty without hesitation and HOPKINSON dispatched it 90 seconds into injury time to put the scores level at the break.


Dartford 1

Havant and Waterlooville 1

While the first half was dominated by Dartford, the Hawks took back the balance of power in the second. Ramsey’s 25 yard effort sent Young scrambling across his goal early on, and Tiryaki was unlucky when he nodded on a Selley free kick that came up the middle only for the ball to drop wide.

Tiryaki then sent in a cross from the right that hung in the air and hit the bar, and Ramsey was desperately unlucky not to find the net when he turned on a long throw 12 yards out and fired a shot left of Young that the keeper kept out in midair with one hand.

Michael Shinn’s free kick was put back across the goal for Berquez to try with a close range header, but Martin snatched from the air, and Lee Burns could scarcely believe his luck when he miss hit the ball at the back post with a perfect opportunity to restore Darford’s lead.

Fogden returned from injury to replace Ramsey in the 70th minute and made an immediate impact at the front trying to force a Selley free kick through the defence.

Academy midfielder Harvey Whyte, on for Hopkinson with three minutes to go, earned a corner off Tom Bonner that Selley lofted over the box. The Hawks then took the lead when FOGDEN picked it up on the far side and curled an astonishing shot back that bent beyond Young’s dive and snuck inside the far post.

With four minutes of injury to play Dartford went all out to find a last ditch equaliser, but Billy Burgess’s first effort from a throw by Bonner was caught by Martin. Whyte was then fouled on the edge of the Darts’ box, and Selley fired a free kick wide. From the goal kick the hosts broke forward quickly, and Harris was pulled back as he charged into the Hawks’ box.

HAYES wasted no time in firing home the game’s second penalty kick six minutes into injury time to see the points shared; a result that stands as a fair representation of the effort put in by two sides that look set to be major players in the league this season.